Sander Kleinenberg

Everybody's favourite DJ Sander Kleinenberg has had an amazing year.

With his Everybody club night touching down in London, NY, Ibiza, Germany and beyond. His recent album aptly entitled 'Everybody on Tour' has also been a riotous success.

[Read more]

Twisted Disco

Hed Kandi

Hed Kandi is proud to present the return of its sleazier sister, Twisted Disco. A darker shade of Kandi, Twisted Disco features galvanised, steroid-pumped versions of Kandi favourites

When Lex Luthor corrupts Superman with Kryptonite, his costume loses its brightness and he starts doing bad things! Twisted disco is Kandi gone to the dark side. Like Annequin Skywalker’s transformation to Darth Vader, the tracks are given body armour and a light sabre – fortified for their role in evil dancefloor destruction! CD1 moves from said Mylo track to the stomping bass and moody-yet-camp hypnosis of Tiga’s You Gonna Want Me, featuring Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters fame on vocals. The Squint mix of Wez Clarke’s ‘What Can I Do?’ continues the cool nonchalant vocal theme alongside a catchy b-line and acidic synths. House legends Cajmere and Dajae team up again on Say U will. An abstract ragged bass line, old school beats and wonky noises are juxtaposed with the soulful, glossy sass of the vocals making for a pairing that shouldn’t work but really does. Following the success of Jose Gonzalez’s sublime reworking of The Knife’s Heartbeats, CD1 closes with Rez The Dog’s very different, jerky, robotic remix which still maintains the song’s melancholy beauty.

Rex The Dog takes a walk from CD1 to CD2, fetching ‘Prototype’, an electro-pop, Kraftwerk-esque number, followed by Akabu’s moody ‘Phuture Bound’, whose jagged strings and mind-bending keys combine the twisted and more traditional NY house sounds. Chris Lake’s ‘Changes’ also preserves elements of lighter house where its emotive piano line, melody and popping bongos combine with high octane contemporary sounds. Current favourite Trentmoller’s subtle, mix of Yoshimoto builds, holds back and builds with its rigid rhythm, bubbling electronic flourishes and synth waves to create a first class piece of electronic dance music. Like Murk on too many e-numbers, Mark Night’s massive ‘Insatiable’ literally roars with power. These levels hold out till the end with Rob Wilder and Wes Clarke’s mix of Shiny Grey and Tiga’s throbbing trance-tastic, building remix of Tribulations by LCD Soundsystem. All tracks featured manage to be deep and sophisticated without ever being monotonous or po-faced, making for an enjoyable insight into another dimension of the Hed Kandi world.<BR< P>


1. Mylo feat Freeform Five - Muscle Car (Sander Kleinenberg's Pace Car Mix)
2. Tiga - You Gonna Want Me (Extended Vocal)
3. Wez Clarke - What Can I Do? (Squint Remix)
4. Wonderland Avenue - White Horse (Original)
5. Cajmere featuring Dajae - Say U Will (Original)
6. The Egg - Walking Away (Tocadisco's Acid Walk Mix)
7. Tom Novy featuring Michael Marshall - Your Body (Gianluca Motta Remix)
8. Till West & DJ Delicious - Same Man (Original)
9. Joey Negro - Make A Move On Me (Mark Knight's Toolroom Dub)
10. Armand Van Helden - MyMyMy (Joy Kitikonti Remix)
11. Freeform Five - No More Conversations (Mylo Remix)
12. The Knife - Heartbeats (Rex The Dog Remix)

1. Rex The Dog - Prototype
2. Akabu - Phuture Bound (Joey Negro Medusa Mix)
3. Noir - All About Housemusic (Full Vox Mix)
4. Morillo feat Leslie Carter - Waiting In The Darkness (Superchumbo's Wowiezowie Remix)
5. Dero feat Leee John - Dero's Illusion (Dero's Southamerican Mix)
6. Chris Lake - Changes
7. Yoshimoto - Du What U Du (Trentemoller Remix)
8. The Egg - The Wall (Mylo Remix)
9. Artificial Funk - Never Alone (Funk Agenda V Trophy Twins Fatt Remix)
10. Mark Knight feat Katherine Ellis - Insatiable
11. Shiny Grey - Why (Rob Wilder & Wes Clarke Twisted Disco Remix)
12. LCD Soundsystem - Tribulations (Tiga's Out Of The Trance Closet Mix)
ęCopyright 2023 All rights reserved.
Unauthorized duplication in part or whole strictly prohibited by international copyright law.